Awards and Honorees

Founders Medal

Established by Chancellor Rebecca Chopp for the 2016 Founders Celebration, the Founders Medal is the University’s highest honor, bestowed upon individuals or families whose transformative leadership and engaged philanthropy represent the pinnacle of DU’s mission and values.

2019 recipient: Anna and John J. Sie


Anna and John J. Sie

2019 recipient: John Madden Jr.


John Madden Jr.

Past recipients

  • Dan Ritchie and Joy Burns, 2018
  • Ralph J. & Patricia M. Nagel, 2017
  • Robert & Judi Newman, 2016
  • Donald L. (LLB ’77) & Susan M. Sturm, 2016